Saint Patrick Parish was founded in 1867 near the confluence of the Allegheny River and the French Creek. The cornerstone for the present church building was laid in 1879. Since these early years, the parish has served the Catholic Community of Franklin as well as surrounding areas including Polk, Utica, Cooperstown, and Clintonville. In 1894, the Sisters of Mercy started a Sacred Heart Academy which continues today as St. Patrick School.
Today, St. Patrick Parish has 900 families and over 2500 members. It is a vibrant parish with many ministry opportunities as well as several Catholic organizations, including Catholic Daughters of the Americas, Knights of Columbus, Catholic War Veterans, and Christian Mothers.
The parish campus includes St. Patrick Church which faces Liberty Street, St. Patrick School which faces Buffalo Street, and Dion Auditorium, facing 10th Street, which houses the parish offices,a gymasium, and a conference room.
St. Patrick Community Food Pantry, which began in 2005, serves the needy within the parish boundaries-Catholic and non-Catholic alike.